Regional Juried Exhibition

The Freeport Art Museum's 13th

Annual Regional Juried Exhibition

November 11, 2016 - February 18, 2017

Opening Reception Friday November 11th, 5-8 PM

The 13th annual Regional Juried Exhibition at the Freeport Art Museum features work by artists living in the tri-state region of Illinois, Iowa and Wisconsin. Created to encourage contemporary art, this show provides an opportunity for established and emerging artists to debut their latest work. The Regional Juried Exhibition continues to build momentum each year and now attracts over 200 submissions. A wide variety of media is accepted from traditional materials such as painting and sculpture to conceptual and new techniques including video, interactive media, performance and installation art. FAM has gained the distinguished reputation of displaying a wide range of contemporary art, allowing this exhibition to become a favorite amongst visitors. The invited juror selects works for inclusion and chooses recipients for cash awards for first, second and third place. Winners will be announced at the opening reception.

Exhibiting Artists:  Pamela Andros, Jean Apgar, Nick Baxter, Sara Slee Brown, Jim Davis, Doug DeWitt, Mark Dierker, Simone Doing and Max Puchalsky, Joan Geary, Sarvin Haghighi, Carol Hamilton, David Hauptschein, Eric Hazeltine, Eric Hazeltine, Kathleen Isacson, Stephen Jensen, Katsy Johnson, Yvette Kaiser Smith, Deanna Krueger, Deanna Krueger, Cindy Lesperance, Bert Leveille, Judy Lipman Shechter, Bob Logsdon, Jeanne Ludeke, Benjamin Madeska, Carol Mantey, Janice Meister, Taylor Mezo, Leah Mitchell, Paul Nitsche, Paul Pinzarrone, Gina Robbins, Kathleen Roman, Kathryn Scott, Elizabeth Shriver, Dan Spahn, Frank Spidale, Rebecca Stahr, Randal Stringer, Daniel Tajlili, Linda Vietmeyer, Candace Wark and Shirley Nannini, Zachary Williams, Sandra Wilson

Juror: Sergio Gomez

Sergio Gomez is a Chicago based visual artist and creative entrepreneur. He received a Master of Fine Arts degree from Northern Illinois University. Sergio’s work has been subject of solo exhibitions in the United States, Italy and Vienna. He has participated in numerous group exhibitions in Spain, Sweden, London, Mexico and the US. His work can be found in private and public collections of the National Museum of Mexican Art, Brauer Art Museum, and the MIIT Museo Internazionale Italia Arte among other public and private collections. Currently, Sergio Gomez is the owner & director of 33 Contemporary Gallery, Curator/Director of Exhibitions at the Zhou B. Art Center, contributor for Italia Arte Magazine, Art/Design faculty at South Suburban College, Creative Consultant for Idea Seat Marketing and Advertising, co-founder of 3c Wear and co-funder of the Art NXT Level Program. His weekly Artist Next Level podcast inspires and educates contemporary artists. Sergio has curated special projects for the Chicago Park District, ArtSpot Miami International Art Fair during Art Basel Week (2013, 2014), National Museum of Mexican Art, and ExpoChicago (2014) among others.

This exhibition is sponsored by Furst McNess Co.

Gallery Guide  : TBA                Award Recipients  : TBA