Regional Juried Exhibition

The Freeport Art Museum's

15th Annual

Regional Juried Exhibition

November 17, 2018 - February 16, 2019

Opening Reception Saturday November 17th, 5-8 PM

The Annual Regional Juried Exhibition at the Freeport Art Museum features work by artists living in the tri-state region of Illinois, Iowa, and Wisconsin. Created to encourage contemporary art, this show provides an opportunity for established and emerging artists to debut their latest work. The Regional Juried Exhibition continues to build momentum each year. A wide variety of media is accepted from traditional materials such as painting and sculpture to conceptual and new techniques including video, interactive media, performance and installation art.

FAM has gained the distinguished reputation of displaying a wide range of contemporary art, allowing this exhibition to become a favorite among visitors. Each year, FAM invites a new juror, who selects approximately 50 artworks for inclusion into the exhibition, as well as the artworks to be awarded first, second and third place. Award winners will be announced at the opening reception.

Juror: Bruce Howdle

Bruce Howdle is a long standing member of the Mineral Point art community in Wisconsin. In addition to his large ceramic mural commissions he also operates Howdle Gallery in Mineral Point. Bruce earned a MFA from Arizona State University at Tempe and a BA from UW Platteville.

Bruce has completed over 30 major ceramic mural commissions for private and public spaces and for governmental and commercial institutions. He has also participated in numerous exhibitions in Wisconsin, Illinois and Iowa and internationally in Latvia, Finland, Sweden, and New Zealand.

In 2006 he was awarded the Slane Scholar Residency Professorship at Bradley University in Peoria, IL. Since 1994 he has taught at both the University of Wisconsin Madison and at the UW Platteville campus and previously held instructor positions at Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff and the Navajo Community College in Taisle, Arizona.

Exhibiting Artists: 

Lynn Anderson (Naperville, IL), Dan Brinkmeier (Mount Carroll, IL), Bradley Cahill (Sycamore, IL), CathyJean Clark (Neillsville, WI), Michael Coakes (Chicago, IL), Cesar Conde (Chicago, IL), Robert Craig (Des Moines, IA), Charlotte Cziperle (Burr Ridge, IL), Doug DeWitt (Mundelein, IL), Mark Dierker (Dubuque, IA), Laura Frazier (Chicago, IL), Maureen Fritchen (Racine, WI), Ann Haag (Forreston, IL), Karen Halt (Mukwonago, WI), Eric Hazeltine (Orfordville, WI), Leslie Hirshfield (Evanston, IL), Yu ling Huang (Chicago, IL), Sue Jachimiec (Dodgeville, WI), Mary Jones (Indianola, IA), Moritz Kellerman (Elk Grove Village, IL), Jenny Knavel (Delavan, WI), Anke Korioth (West Chicago, IL), Aaron Laux (Madison, WI), Cynthia Lee (La Grange Park, IL), Cindy Lesperance (Lakemoor, IL), John Linquist (Machesney Park, IL), Jeanne Ludeke (Rockford, IL), Benjamin Madeska (Chicago, IL), Carol Mantey (Galena, IL), Dennis Markley (Delavan, WI), Janice Meister (Crete, IL), Scott A. Mossman (Chicago, IL), Ari Norris (DeKalb, IL), Raul Ortiz (Chicago, IL), Yoonshin Park (Chicago, IL), Sandra Peterson (Mineral Point, WI), Paul Pinzarrone (Machesney Park, IL), Joyce Polance (Chicago, IL), Andrew Rauhauser (Wilmette, IL), Kathy Blankley Roman (Chicago, IL), Eric Rosell (Grayslake, IL), Antonia Ruppert (Berwyn, IL), Jeffrey Sevener (Crystal Lake, IL), Rick Sindt (Chicago, IL), Jolanta Soares (Clarendon Hills, IL), Kathleen Sullivan Isacson (Crystal Lake, IL), Sam Tucibat (Baileyville, IL), Katherine Weber (Woodstock, IL), Molly Wood (Des Moines, IA), David Zahn (Moline, IL), Xiaoqing Zhu (Chicago, IL)

Juror: Dan Addington

Dan Addington has lived and worked in Chicago since 1992 after receiving his MFA in painting from Illinois State University in Bloomington/Normal. He received a BA with a double major in art and theater from Northwestern College in Orange City, IA, and a Masters in Art and Art History from Arkansas State University. Currently, Dan is the owner and director of Addington Gallery in Chicago.

Dan’s work has been exhibited in numerous group and solo exhibitions across the US, including solo exhibitions at The Rymer Gallery in Nashville, Aliya|Linstrum Gallery in Atlanta, Malton Gallery in Cincinnati, McMurtrey Gallery in Houston, and Oglvie/Pertl in Chicago. In Chicago, Dan's work has been shown at Gwenda Jay Gallery, Struve Gallery, Carrie Secrist Gallery, Lineage Gallery, Evan Glasman Gallery, 33 Contemporary, The Contemporary Art Workshop, the Chicago Cultural Center, the Beverly Art Center, The Greenview Art Center, The Arlington Heights Art Center, The Riverside Art Center, The Highland Park Art Center, The Evanston Art Center, The Tall Grass Park Forest Art Association Gallery, the Loyola Medical Center, and Artchicago.

Gallery History

Addington Gallery was originally founded in 1988 as Gwenda Jay Gallery. In 1981 founder Gwenda Jay moved to Chicago and became one of River North’s pioneers as co-owner of Klein Gallery before opening her own space on Superior Street in 1988. Dan Addington’s earliest association with the gallery began in 1993 as a represented artist. In addition to exhibiting his own art nationally, he worked as curator, assistant director, and director of various galleries in Chicago. In 1996, Dan became the Director of Gwenda Jay Gallery, and the gallery moved to it's present location on Wells St. In 1999 Addington became co-owner of the gallery, and in 2007, he became sole owner and it's name officially changed to Addington Gallery. Dan exhibits his work around the country in numerous one person and group exhibitions, teaches workshops, juries competitions, and frequently speaks to groups and classes about his experiences as both artist and gallery owner.

Gallery Guide: Click Here

Award Winners: 

  • 1st Place: Ridges/ Tied series by Yoonshin Park
  • 2nd Place: Allegro Con Fuoco by Ari Norris
  • 3rd Place: Mutual Measurement by Xiaoqing Zhu
  • Honorable Mention: Water’s Pathway by Aaron Laux
  • Honorable Mention: ...wait...fade by Doug DeWitt

This exhibition is sponsored by Furst McNess Co.